Industry leader in performance off-road parts

Yucaipa, CA to Ouray, CO and back. The Pre-ride.

Life sometimes can take you down unexpected and strange paths.  It reminds me of a old Lord of The Rings saying, “All who wander are not lost.”  My life has been an interesting roller coaster, I moved my family to Yucaipa to work for IMS Products, but life had a different path for me.  I am now back to teaching elementary school and will be moving back to Monterey, CA in a few weeks, but before that happens I will be making my first adventure ride.  Scott Wright of IMS, myself, and 6 other men will be making a 2 day 850 mile ride from Yucaipa, CA to Ouray, CO for a church men’s retreat with Wildwood Calvary Chapel.  Two of the six men will be riding in the chase truck towing a 16 foot trailer big enough for 4 ADV bikes to fit in.  One of them, Chris Hardin GM of IMS, will be a trade out rider for anyone that gets tired, where as Tim Fogle will be the permanent chase truck guy.  It should prove to be a very interesting and awesome trip and I can’t wait to get started.  So with out further mumbling on my part, here is the list of men, the bikes that they ride, and a little photo shoot of the bike I will be riding, as more pics and info come I will keep this updated so keep a keen eye out, this should be fun.

The Bikes and Men:

There is me on my 2014 Green Triumph Tiger 800XC

Scott Wright men’s pastor and owner of IMS Products on a 2014 BMW 1200GSA.

Chris Hardin Manager of IMS Products and his 2009 Husky TE310 (he won’t be riding that bike, simply because of comfort)

Mark Schlichter on his personal 2010 BMW800.

Jeremy Fogle 2014 1200GSA (on loan from BMW of Escondido)

Keith Morabito on a 2014 BMW 800GSA (also on loan from BMW of Escondido)

The Gear:

For this ride we have been completely outfitted (minus boots) with Klim Overland Pants and Jackets, as well as Klim Helmets, F4 ECE to be exact.  This is something we are all very excite about and very grateful to Klim for the equipment.  These pants and jacket are very well ventilated, so even in the heat of the Vegas Desert we should be nice and cool.  The jackets come equipped with a back protecter, and elbow and shoulder armor, and lots of pockets for storing things.  The Pants have tons of pockets, several vents, as well as hip and knee protection.  We are hopeful that we never have to find out how good the armor is but it is better to have it and not need it then need it and not have it.

The Plan:

Our plan of attack is to leave Sunday the 15 at around 2pm and then hit Vegas for some IMS promotional shots and videos. Then bomb out to Saint George Utah for the night. The next day we will be hitting Moab and Zion on the way to Ouray. Once at the camp we plan on going over Engineer Pass and a few other yet to be determined rides. We will be there from the 17-21 when we leave to ride the full 850 miles back in one day.
As we prepare I will post more pics and info but now for what you all really want to see the bikes, or at least one of them, my personal Tiger 800XC.

I have added a RS4 Yoshimura exhaust, Alt Rider guards, Precision Concepts redone front suspension and Touratech rear shock, TKC80 front and rear tires, Renthal Twinwall Handlebars, Cycra Hand guards, and a very comfy Seat Concepts seat. I will be wearing KLIM Overland Pants and Jacket and a KLIM Helmet.

On top of all of this IMS has loaned me a set of their Rally Adventure bike foot pegs. I will get some pics when they arrive but let me say I have ridden with them on this bike before and they are great, big, lots of grip, and easy on the eyes. Scott Wright will have a set of the new Adventure Pegs on his 1200GSA as soon as they are finished. He told me they should be really cool with a special shape just for big ADV bikes. I will keep this updated as things develop.

ImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

This is Scott Wright’s BMW 1200GSA

IMG_4695 IMG_4694 IMG_4684 IMG_4682

Leave a Reply

