Industry leader in performance off-road parts

Taking out the Trash

Ok, I am not going on a rant here.  I just wanted to talk about something that was near and dear to my heart as well as to many off road riders out there.  That is the trails that we ride and the trash that we find.  This is prompted by a recent ride I did on one of my favorite trail systems.  I was just riding along getting near the end of the trail where it hits the road, when I crossed this beautiful little stream.  Now recently I have decided that I was going to try to become a professional “Free Camera App iPhone Photo Taker” so I stopped to take a picture with my XR in the middle of a stream, because that would look cool.  Anyway here I was taking pictures walking around my Dual Sport when I walked up the stream a little to get a more dramatic shot when I looked over and saw it, a nice little collection of trash (primarily water bottles and a few miscellaneous other things).  This really made me sad, and at first I was just going to leave, after all I had nothing to carry the trash in to properly dispose of it, but at the last second before I left I decided to take a picture and post it up here, hoping to raise awareness to this problem.

 

A few months ago I had posted a picture of my mountain bike on a local ride I did and commented on how so many trails that had been formed by off road riders had been shut down and how if we don’t figure out how to fix it more and more will continue to get shut down.  I see things like this and honestly can understand why.  This area is absolutely beautiful, (as this photo hopefully shows) and if you look not too closely you can see the first bit of trash that caught my eye laying on the bank in front of my bike, a little white trash bag.

 

Now I said I wasn’t going to rant, and I am not.  I realize that just a few days before this ride was a holiday weekend and there was a lot of campers, and maybe someone was riding out of this trail with a bag full of trash and it got caught and ripped open and they didn’t notice.  Who knows, all I can say is that it was there and if we don’t take care of our trails then eventually they will get shut down, and I totally understand.  Who wants their trails to look like this.

 

It is true that every once in awhile I do find cool things on the trail, once I found the remains of a car front seat set up so that whoever sat there got an amazing sunset view, (when I found it it was just a rusted bunch of metal but I could see the potential) and I understand that, it was right near a campsite.  (If you want to read about some really neat trail finds click here http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/847470-weirdcreepy-things-youve-found-on-the-trail/)  All I am trying to say is if you pack it in, pack it out.  Like I learned in sixth grade Science and Conservation Camp, (yes I was that kid still kind of am) “Take only photos, leave only footprints.”  Keep it safe and ride clean.  

So to conclude what do you guys think we should do to keep our trails clean and open for years to come?

 

Leave a Reply

